Stained glass (non-Neopets)

Post finished and unfinished work here for critique and appraisal.
daisybell

Stained glass (non-Neopets)

Post by daisybell »

It's pretty rare for me to be able to post anything in art because I'm not good at drawing, in either traditional or digital media. I've recently started learning how to make stained glass panels, though, which qualify as art... well, they do for me.

Here's the first piece I did:

You can see the scale of it a bit better here:

I had quite a bit of help in making it, and I can see the faults in it- particularly the fact that the edges should be straight and they aren't!

And this is the second (and only other) piece I've done:

I did this as a birthday present for EofS, which meant I had to work fairly quickly. I think it took about 7 hours from start to finish.

More pics:

And just because, here it is as a WIP:

It's actually fairly close to completion here, but you can see how the pieces have had the edges covered with copper foil- it's on a roll and has adhesive one side, like sticky tape. Then you solder the bits together, and this is where this project isn't so good. You probably can't see on these photos, but my artistic soldering skills need practice :/

Anyway, I think I've whored out my photos enough. I want to make a windowsill clock as one project in the near future, but I have to figure out how to support the clock mechanism, because the batteries will be heavy. In the meantime, I might make a small project. It's a pity making something Neopetsy would be difficult, because if I could it might actually give me a chance at the art gallery, which isn't something I ever thought I could get into.
Neopets wishlists: here
Veo

Post by Veo »

ooOooooo . . . . pretty . . . 0.0

I like! ^__^
ladynight6

Post by ladynight6 »

Those are beautiful! I love stained glass especially in the winter with a candle behind it.
Wingsrising
Human Avatar: 157670

Post by Wingsrising »